Share on:

Jonathan M. Samet, M.D., M.S. (Chair)

Term: January 1, 2010 - December 31, 2015

Dr. Samet, a pulmonary physician and epidemiologist, is currently Professor and Flora L. Thornton Chair for the Department of Preventive Medicine at the Keck School of Medicine at USC and Director, USC Institute for Global Health. From 1994 through 2008, he was Professor and Chairman of the Department of Epidemiology of the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. He received an A.B. degree in chemistry and physics from Harvard College, before attending the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry. Dr. Samet has investigated major health issues using epidemiology. His research has focused on the health risks of inhaled pollutants—particles and ozone in outdoor air and indoor pollutants including secondhand smoke and radon. He has also investigated the occurrence and causes of cancer and respiratory diseases, emphasizing the risks of active and passive smoking. Dr. Samet has served as president of the Society for Epidemiologic Research and of the American College of Epidemiology. He has been editor or associate editor for the American Review of Respiratory Disease, the American Journal of Epidemiology, and Epidemiology. He has served on numerous committees concerned with the using scientific evidence for the development of policy to protect public health: the Science Advisory Board of the Environmental Protection Agency; committees of the National Research Council, including chairing the Biological Effects of Ionizing Radiation (BEIR) VI Committee, the Committee on Research Priorities for Airborne Particulate Matter, and the Board on Environmental Studies and Toxicology; and committees of the Institute of Medicine. He currently chairs the Clean Air Scientific Advisory Committee of the US Environmental Protection Agency. He received the Surgeon General’s Medallion in 1990 and 2006, the 2004 Prince Mahidol Award for Global Health awarded by the King of Thailand, and the 2006 Public Service Award of the American Thoracic Society. He received the Alumni Award of Merit from the Harvard School of Public Health, and was named Distinguished Alumnus of the Year by the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry. He was elected to the Institute of Medicine in 1997.

Curriculum Vitae