The RWJF Health & Society Scholars program ended February 2017. The site will no longer be updated. More »

The Program Sites

The six universities in this program were selected because of their outstanding talent in specific disciplines, their commitment to interdisciplinary collaboration, the breadth and depth of their research opportunities, and the presence of faculty leaders in population health. These institutions have demonstrated an ability to conceptualize and investigate the full range of determinants of health. The sites share their training and research resources for the benefit of scholars and faculty at all sites.

The current program sites of the RWJF Health & Society Scholars program are the following four (4) universities:

Lisa Bates, Ph.D.
Peter Bearman, Ph.D.
Kathryn Neckerman, Ph.D.
Julien Teitler, Ph.D.

Harvard University
Lisa F. Berkman, Ph.D.
Ichiro Kawachi, M.D., Ph.D.

University of California, San Francisco and Berkeley
Nancy E. Adler, Ph.D.
Robert A. Hiatt, M.D., Ph.D.

Ralph Catalano, Ph.D.
Barbara Laraia, Ph.D.

University of Wisconsin
David A. Kindig, M.D., Ph.D.
John Mullahy, Ph.D.
Stephanie A. Robert, M.S.W., Ph.D.


For the first ten years, the RWJF Health & Society Scholars (HSS) program had been conducted at six prestigious universities who are at the forefront of population health science.  In 2013,  the Program changed to a four site configuration as part of a process initiated in response to the 2008 economic downturn, which required a reduction of expenditures across all of the Foundation’s programming.  As a result, The University of Michigan and The University of Pennsylvania no longer accepted new scholars beyond those already selected for Cohort 9 (2011-2013) and Cohort 10 (2012-2014).  Both sites have brought exceptional and unique strengths to the HSS program and their contributions have enriched our community and the field of population health.

University of Michigan
James House, Ph.D.
Carlos Mendes de Leon, Ph.D.
Jeffrey Morenoff, Ph.D.
Mark Wilson, Sc.M., Sc.D.

University of Pennsylvania
Robert A. Aronowitz, M.D.
David A. Asch, M.D., M.B.A.

Jason Schnittker, Ph.D.